Street art

Graffiti that I found along the beach on the Big Island of Hawaii.

“Graffiti is one of the few tools you have if you have almost nothing. And even if you don’t come up with a picture to cure world poverty you can make someone smile while they’re having a piss.”
― Banksy, Banging Your Head Against a Brick Wall

Long before Banksy, I was fascinated by street art. Whether it was just a standard tag or not, I was amazed at the way each letter looked, its location, and even its color. Even in my days in California, I was tempted to pull my car over and take pictures of the graffiti on the side of railroad cars. I didn’t do so, but I really wished I did. It wasn’t until I was in Brooklyn that my fascination with street art really came to fruition. The street art there was bright, vibrant and artistic. So one hot summer day, I armed myself with my camera, walked along the neighborhood and photographed any piece of street art that I came across. (I’ll post in future entries.) Even when I was in Hawaii, I made it a point to take pictures of the local street art. Now that I’m back home, I’m making it a point continue my new fascination and document what I find out on the streets.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

