Looking up

New York City had me with its breath-taking architecture. I remember spending my first couple weeks there looking upwards. All the buildings were works of art. Each building was surveyed and admired. And I took the time to look at each one. The problem, though, was that after a while, my neck started hurting from looking up. It was then that I decided not to look up as much. (All that looking upwards made me appear like a tourist anyway.)

Later, when I moved on to Hawaii, I found myself looking upwards again. This time, it wasn’t the architecture, but it was the natural landscape– mountains, ocean, open fields, the whole nine. But the mountains, ah! They appeared as if they were disappearing into the sky. My neck started to hurt again, but, unlike being in NYC, I was okay with it. Who cares if I looked like a tourist this time?

One Comment

Leave a Reply

