Begin

Pololu Valley, Hawaii.

My brother is the best tour guide.  When I told him that I wanted to see all the best sights in the Big Island, his answer was to pack up the car and take me for a drive.  A long drive.  A very long drive.  Numerous conversations were started and stopped.  My brother all the while answered any questions I had about anything and everything that I saw outside the window.  And after hours passed, we finally arrived.   And where he wanted to take me was at the end of the highway.  He drove off the highway and pulled onto a dirt road, and tried to park in a place that had only ten parking spaces.  Luckily, we didn’t have to wait long,  car number 10 was on his way out.  I stepped out of the car, took one deep breath, and turned to my right.

At the end of the highway was this view. And what a view it was.

Note:  Of all the things I’ve seen and photographed, this picture is one of my favorites.  It reminds me how much I love being on the Big Island.  Sure you had to drive far and wide, but its well worth the wait and the gas.

I was humbled by Mother Nature once again.  The valley was unlike anything I’d ever seen. Looking at the valley, mist and all, I felt as if I was outside of my body.  I couldn’t begin to comprehend how much in awe I was at the view.   Once I my feeling of being overwhelmed came down and I was ready to leave, I found the sign “Begin State Highway.”  How fitting.  Back on the road again, and this time I didn’t mind so much.

Leave a Reply

