Weekly Photo Challenge: Mine (a breakfast worth not sharing)

 

A breakfast feast of papaya, yogurt, and homemade granola. Island Lava Java, Kailua-Kona, Hawaii.

 

On one summer morning while in Hawaii, I, like the rest of the world, woke up hungry.  But I decided that instead of just filling my belly and getting it over with, I wanted something different.  I didn’t want cereal, I didn’t want oatmeal, I didn’t want waffles or pancakes.  And yet, I wanted something healthy and organic and unique.

So, with an empty belly and a finicky disposition, I went looking for breakfast.  I had a particular place in mind, a local cafe that served amazing Kona coffee that was within walking distance.  (Plus, ahem,free wi-fi.) So I sat down with a menu in hand and pondered breakfast.  I narrowed it between a stack of macadamia nut pancakes versus the fruity creation seen above.  Then I decided, I didn’t want pancakes, I could have it anywhere.  This papaya, yogurt, and homemade granola concoction was something I never heard of before and that was going to be what would end up in my belly.

When the waitress brought it over, I was awestruck.  The granola really was homemade, the papaya fresh, and the yogurt was itself a yummy hidden treasure.  There was even an orchid for garnish.  It really was different and it was all mine.

Til this day, when I share what my best breakfast was, I mention this breakfast and get compliments.  And to think, I could’ve had a stack of pancakes.

 

Leave a Reply

