Of Hunger and Memories: An Intro to Food

Samosas. Grand Taj, Tumon, Guam.

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.”
―Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own

Prior to leaving Guam, most of what I ate was just Filipino, Chamorro, and American food. From time to time, I had Korean food and Chinese food, but nothing too far out there. Granted, when I was  a teenager, I was fortunate to eat Italian food in Italy and French food in France. But other than that, nothing too exotic, just what was available on the island.  I wasn’t that brave enough to try new cuisines.

That was until I met my A, my BFF (I mentioned her in my first “Of Hunger and Memories” post ).  Well, she wasn’t my BFF at the time, but our friendship would soon flourish around food.  On our first outing, she convinced me to have Thai food. I never tried it before, so I was apprehensive.  She was a New Yorker whose taste buds were more sophisticated than mine, so I trusted her.

That lunch changed everything for me.  My palate and taste buds would no longer be satisfied with just drive-thru food or chicken adobo.  There were all these other flavors out there to taste and try.  After that point, she encouraged me to try new things and I began to be less and less apprehensive.  She had me trying Indian food, Pakistani food, and others that I can’t quite recall at the moment.  A was there for me, through the sweet, salty, bitter, sour, and umami times.    And though we don’t get to eat together like we used too, I’m thankful that I’ve met her.

Leave a Reply

