Black sandy shores

Black sandy shores Philippines, circa September 2012.   When I took this photo more than ten months ago, I found myself in my usual reflective mood.  I usually find myself that way when I’m by the ocean.  I was a few days away from starting my dream job and this trip was yet another reminder that I had to re-prioritize.  It didn’t matter that I was frustrated with the way things were turning out for me just a few weeks ago.  All that mattered was what ahead–mysterious and unknown– and that was okay.  Everything that went wrong  before was washed by the waves, carried away, and life was made new again.

 

“I said, I prefer the ocean when it’s gray. Or not really gray. A pale, in-between color. It reminds me of waiting for something good to happen.” ― Lauren OliverDelirium

Leave a Reply

