Courage to start, Strength to finish

 

My growing collection of 5k bibs.

My growing collection of 5k bibs.

There are as many reasons for running as there are days in the year, years in my life.  But mostly I run because I am an animal and a child, an artist and a saint.  So, too, are you.  Find your own play, your own self-renewing compulsion, and you will become the person you are meant to be.  ~George Sheehan

If someone told my younger self that when she grew up that she would like running,  my younger self would have laughed to the point of concussion.  But yes, that’s how I turned out.  A few months ago, I began participating in 5ks.  I started walking, then I evolved to sprinting, then running.

I  found that the more 5ks I ran, the voice that discouraged me and gave me excuses to slow down gave way to one that motivated me and pushed me to do better.  Now, after over fifteen 5ks later, running has become a healthy compulsion and a reminder that, in all things that I do, that if I’m brave enough to start something, I should also be strong enough to finish it.

Note:  this blog’s title came from a 5k/10k shirt that I saw recently on one of my runs.  Its my new running mantra.  

Leave a Reply

