Home: More than just a place on a map

image

Guam-- the pink outlined place in a cloud of yellow and my home

When I was living on the mainland, I would often get asked where I was from. When I responded with Guam. Nine times out of ten I would get a puzzled look and be asked another question.  “Where’s that?” If I was lucky there would be a map or a globe handy. I would then point at an small speck of an island in the middle of the Pacific.

It used to be that being from such a small place would be a disadvantage.  But now I know it’s a big part of my identity.  That Guam is more than just a place that is pointed out but a part of me.

Leave a Reply

