Reawakening the reader in me

Books are the ultimate Dumpees: put them down and they’ll wait for you forever; pay attention to them and they will always love you back.

~John Green, An Abundance of Katherines

I don’t know I stopped reading books for fun.  But I do remember what it was like to have a stack of books that I was very eager to devour.  It was like a fever of sorts back then. I lost time reading books not knowing what time it was or even if I had eaten.  I lived in other worlds,  empathize and sympathize with some characters, and experienced things that I wouldn’t and couldn’t begin to imagine to experience.

These days my reading are mostly case files and statutes.  Nothing exciting,  all necessary and time-consuming in my profession. Not the kind of reading that is escapist and/or a distraction to real life.

A part of me has always wanted to get back into reading the same way that I used to read.  The realist in me would remind me that I no longer have the time to read that way anymore and that I have other pressing matters.  But this being a new year, the optimist in me wants to read books again. 

What now?  I decided to take reading for leisure a step at a time.  First step is just to pick a book- something unrelated to work and fun to read.  Next, to read that book, be it a few minutes or a few hours.  Simple plan, right?

Enter the Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion.   It’s the light – hearted and fun kind of story that I preferred reading before the Real World really set in for me.

I hope that this book is a start to more adventures in reading. 

How about you?  Reading anything new? Or is there a book you’d like to recommend?

3 Comments

  1. Well right now I’m currently reading my 3rd book for the year yay! The book is called water traveler: heir of the unknown by Daniel Waltz. I’m in ch 4 currently and it seems like a very interesting book so far. Currently it’s available for free on kobo smash words Ibooks and some other format. As soon as I finish it, I’ll post a review of it on my blog. I truly recommend you reading the book poison study and the other 2 that follow!. There’s a little bit of everything In that book and it will keep you captivated

    Reply

Leave a Reply

